Peggy Berryhill

President, Native Media Resource Center

Peggy Berryhill (Muscogee) has been instrumental in organizing Native radio stations, bringing Native content and raising awareness of Native issues to the entire public radio system throughout her 40 year career in broadcasting. Berryhill began broadcasting in 1973 at KPFA in Berkeley where she produced Living on Indian Time a weekly one-hour program focused on the Native community both local and national. She was Program Director at KPFA, KALW, and KUNM, and she mentored many producers and others who now have leadership positions in community and public radio.

The only Native person to have worked as a full-time producer at National Public Radio (NPR), Berryhill worked in the Specialized Audience Programs Department from 1978-79. The Native Media Resource Center, founded by Berryhill in 1996, is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to produce educational material about indigenous communities and promote cross-cultural understand and racial harmony. Berryhill has won numerous awards for her documentary work including the Unity Award, and the Cindy Award. She has also received awards from the New York Festival, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and the Native American Journalists Association. In 2005 she received the Local Heroes award from KQED-FM public broadcasting in San Francisco.

Most recently, Berryhill’s media expertise and commitment to community earned her the 2011 Bader Award from the National Federation of Community Broadcasters for her lifetime of commitment to Native Radio, community radio and the inclusion of the voices of women and Indigenous communities in broadcasting. Berryhill is known for her vision as a media architect designing media and technology opportunities and solutions by collaborating with numerous public broadcasting and community organizations and institutions such as the Smithsonian American History Museum and the National Museum of the American Indian. In 2014 Berryhill was inducted into the Muscogee Nation Hall of Fame.