NFCB Board of Directors

caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right
Sonya Green Board President

Sonya Green is an award-winning journalist, public speaker and media educator. Green joined the Center for Collaborative Journalism at Mercer University. as Engagement Reporter. Prior to joining the CCJ team, Green had the honor of being selected for the Knight-Wallace Journalism Fellowship class of 2017. She has more than 20 years of broadcast experience in public and commercial media.

Nathan Moore Board Treasurer

Nathan Moore is the General Manager at WTJU at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. Nathan has worked in college and community radio for more than half his life, including Free Speech Radio News and WORT (Madison, WI). He launched UVA’s student-run station WXTJ, WTJU’s low power sister station where he serves as staff adviser, and TEEJ, a Charlottesville/UVA-based podcast network.

Colin Andrews Board Member

Colin Andrews joined the NFCB board in May of 2016 and is also an attorney who has represented non-commercial radio and television before the FCC. He has experience on advising broadcasters on compliance with regulatory requirements, including working on pleadings for administrative proceedings, responding to Letters of Inquiry, responding to EEO audits, and drafting comments on proposed rulemakings.

Adriana Gallardo Board Secretary

Adriana Gallardo is an engagement reporter at ProPublica based in New York City. As the network manager for AIR’s Localore: Finding America, she led a national series of 15 multimedia and community projects. Before joining AIR, she travelled the country as a facilitator with the StoryCorps booth, collecting more than 400 local stories. In her hometown Chicago, she spent over a decade working as a print writer, online editor (Remezcla.com) and radio producer.

Amanda Eichstaedt Board Member

Station Manager/Executive Director of KWMR, West Marin Community Radio in Point Reyes Station since 2010. Amanda holds a bachelor in University Studies from the University of New Mexico and a master in Human Resources Organization Development from the University of San Francisco.

Marcellus Shepard Board Member

Former Program and Music Director at WEAA Baltimore, the third American public radio station in the country. He has been an on-air radio personality in commercial and public radio for the last twenty years, and is co-host of the nationally syndicated Cool Jazz Countdown.

Julia Kumari Drapkin Board Member

Executive Producer and creator of iSeeChange, an environmental reporting project combining citizen science, participatory public media and satellite and sensor monitoring of environmental conditions. Drapkin has extensive newsroom experience spanning public radio, television and print.

Sharon Maeda Term begins 01/20

Maeda has been involved in community radio and media advocacy for 40 years. She was station manager of KRAB-FM in Seattle, a former executive director of Pacifica Radio, a member of the early NFCB Steering Committee and the Public Radio Satellite Interconnection System Charitable Trust, where she continues to serve today. In 2017, Sharon came out of retirement to help get the LPFM in her neighborhood on the air.

NFCB Staff

Sally Kane Chief Executive Officer

During her tenure at KVNF, Kane led a successful capital campaign, started a local news department, expanded membership, and increased revenue. Kane joined NFCB as CEO in 2014. Her passion for excellent local media, compelling performance art, and meaningful service inspires her to work diligently to ensure that community stations are an integral part of the public media system.

Gretchen Aston-Puckett Chief Operating Officer

Gretchen Aston-Puckett joined NFCB’s staff in 2016, after serving as Development and Membership Director at community radio station KVNF in Paonia, Colorado. Previously, she served for nearly a decade as Development Director at High Country News, a non-profit media organization that reports on the American West’s natural and human communities.

Ernesto Aguilar Program Director

Before joining NFCB, Aguilar served Houston community radio station KPFT as program director for more than 11 years. He previously served as KPFT’s co-director of its news department, launching a daily newscast. As a journalist, author, podcaster, public speaker, radio host and facilitator, Aguilar’s work has focused on democracy, inclusion and engagement.